Africana Studies Subject Guide
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Simmona E. Simmons
email: simmons@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3587
Article Databases - Biographical, Geographical, & Historical
African American Biographical Database (AABD) Coverage: 1790-1950
Biographical information on thousands of African Americans, assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. Initial content was drawn from Chadwyck-Healey's Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. Provided by the Bell endowment.
America: History & Life 
Coverage: prehistory - present
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America and Canda.
Country Studies Coverage: varies
In-depth studies of countries' political, economic, social, cultural, and national security systems and institutions. Many photographs, maps, and charts. Formerly called Area Handbooks - US Army
Human Rights - Country Reports from US Dept. of State Coverage: 1993 - present
Submitted annually to the US Congress; covers internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the [United Nations'] Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
Human Rights Watch World Report The web page for the International human rights organization. Includes full text of the Human Rights World Report for 1999 and 2000 plus other full text reports, maps, country information and human rights initiatives.
United Nations InfoNation Coverage: current
Comparative economic, demographic, geographic, and social data for every country in the world. Includes source citations.
top of page
Article Databases - International
Use these databases to search for materials with an international focus
Historical Abstracts 
Coverage: 1954 - present
Historical Abstracts indexes journals covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.
PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service 
Coverage: 1972 - present
Indexes journals, books, and government documents in the fields of political science, policy, public administration, society. Includes backfile in July 05 through June 06.
top of page
Article Databases - General & Multidisciplinary
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: varies
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
MasterFILE Premier (Ebsco) Coverage: varies
Indexes 3,100+ magazines covering general subjects. Includes full-text for over 1,000 journals.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1887 - present
Indexes 1,300 Psychology journals from nearly 50 countries. Also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters. Same coverage as PsycLit.
Social Services Abstracts 
Coverage: 1980 - present
Indexes and abstracts current research focused on social work and human services, including social welfare, social policy, community development, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty and homelessness. Includes Social Work Abstracts.
top of page
All Online Africana Studies Resources
