Ancient Studies Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Catalogs & Dissertations
- Handbooks
- Atlases & Maps
- Websites
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608
Article Databases
These resources will provide access to scholarly journal articles, some of which will be full-text.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: varies
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
ArticleFirst Coverage: 1990 - present
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco) 
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other reference sources in the humanities. The database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works.
JSTOR Coverage: varies
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
Perseus Online Coverage: current
A digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. The library's materials include ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, extensively illustrated art catalogs, and images. Made possible by the Taliaferro endowment.
Project Muse Coverage: varies
Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) Coverage: current
TLG is an electronic data bank of ancient Greek literature from Homer (8th century B.C.) to 600 A.D. with historiographical, lexicographical and scholiastic texts from between 600 and 1453 A.D.
TOCS-IN (Table of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists) Coverage: varies
This site provides the table of contents from a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. It searches both the University of Toronto and the French Language site Louvain.
Web of Knowledge Coverage: 1998-present
The Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
Website Attica Website Attica complements and enhances the published volumes of Persons of Ancient Athens. [REF DF 16.P47 1994] The addenda et corrigenda to the published volumes are updated at this site. Searches may be made:see the website for details.
top of page
All Online Ancient Studies Resources
