Art/Visual Art Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Catalogs & Dissertations
- Museums
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Joe Clark
email: jclark@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-2964
Article Databases
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: varies
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Art Abstracts (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1984 - present
Indexes and abstracts international English-language arts publications covering advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, design, video, film, architecture and art history.
ArticleFirst Coverage: 1990 - present
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
JSTOR Coverage: varies
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1969 - present
Citations and abstracts on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. Produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale.
Web of Knowledge Coverage: 1998-present
The Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
All Online Art/Visual Art Resources
