Chemistry Subject Guide
Handbooks - General & Analytical Chemistry
NIST Chemistry WebBook Coverage: current
Thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Includes spectra, physical properties, and more.
CRC Handbook of chemistry and physics.
Location: REF QD65.H3
Most recent edition is available at the Reference Desk. Also known as the 'rubber book'. See also: Tables Relocated or Removed from CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 71st through 79th Editions
Lange's handbook of chemistry.
Location: REF QD65.L36
This classic reference covers the entire field of chemistry, with state-of-the-art facts, figures, values, tables, and formulas
Merck index.
Location: REF RS356.M524
Most recent edition is available at the Reference Desk. One-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. Each monograph in the encyclopedia discusses a single chemical entity or a small group of closely-related compounds. Entries include: chemical, common, generic and systematic names; trademarks and associated companies; CAS Registry Numbers; molecular formulae, weights and percentage composition; capsule statements identifying compound classes and scientific significance; chemical, biomedical and patent literature references; physical and toxicity data; therapeutic and commercial uses; caution and hazard information
Handbooks - Chemical Engineering
ASTM Standards on Disc Coverage: current
Ask at Reference Desk for full-text on CD-ROM. Full text of 12,000+ standards. Use index disc (at Reference Desk) to identify standards covering metals, petroleum, construction, the environment and more
Handbook of chemical engineering calculations.
2004.
Location: REF TP149 .H285
Fermentation and biochemical engineering handbook: principles, process design, and equipment.
1997.
Location: REF TP248.3.F47
Perry’s Chemical engineers’ handbook.
Location: REF TP151 .P45
Most recent edition is available at the Reference Desk
Perry's standard tables and formulas for chemical engineers.
2003.
Location: REF QD65.S584
top of page
Handbooks - Physical & Inorganic Chemistry
CrossFire Commander: Beilstein & Gmelin (download/installation instructions) Coverage: 1772 - present
Beilstein covers more than 6 million organic compounds, plus more than 5 million reactions. Find physical and chemical data, spectral information, and more.
Gmelin covers over 1.4 million inorganic compounds, including polymers, ceramics, minerals and alloys. May include: material composition and structural data, preparation and reaction details, condensed phase data, spectroscopy, etc.
Installed on computers on floors 1 - 7.
Quantities, units and symbols in physical chemistry.
2007.
Location: REF QD451.5 .Q36
Tables of physical and chemical constants.
1995.
Location: REF QC61 .K3
NIST-JANAF thermochemical tables.
1998.
Location: REF QD511 .N57
top of page
Handbooks - Organic & Biochemistry
CrossFire Commander: Beilstein & Gmelin (download/installation instructions) Coverage: 1772 - present
Beilstein covers more than 6 million organic compounds, plus more than 5 million reactions. Find physical and chemical data, spectral information, and more.
Gmelin covers over 1.4 million inorganic compounds, including polymers, ceramics, minerals and alloys. May include: material composition and structural data, preparation and reaction details, condensed phase data, spectroscopy, etc.
Installed on computers on floors 1 - 7.
Dean’s handbook of organic chemistry.
2003.
Location: REF QD251.2.G65
Handbook of reagents for organic synthesis.
1999-2007.
Location: REF QD77.H37
Organic Syntheses.
1921-Present.
Location: QD262.O7
Also available online at: http://www.orgsyn.org/
top of page
Handbooks - Spectroscopy
The Aldrich library of ¹³C and ¹H FT NMR spectra.
1993.
Location: REF QC462.85.A44 v.1-3
The Aldrich library of FT-IR spectra, 2nd edition.
1997.
Location: REF QC457.P87
The Aldrich FT-IR library with spectral viewer. 2002 library [electronic resource].
2003.
Location: REF - Ready Ref QC462.85.A428
Available on the CD Database workstation. Ask at Reference Desk for assistance
The Aldrich FT-NMR library with spectral viewer [electronic resource].
2003.
Location: REF - Ready Ref QC462.85.A43
Available on the CD Database workstation. Ask at Reference Desk for assistance
The Aldrich FT-Raman library with spectral viewer [electronic resource].
2005.
Location: REF - Ready Ref QC462.85.A442
Available on the CD Database workstation. Ask at Reference Desk for assistance
top of page
Handbooks - Safety & Toxicology
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) Coverage: current
100 free internet sources for MSDS, which contain physical data (melting point, boiling point, flash point etc.), toxicity, health effects, first aid, reactivity, storage, disposal, protective equipment, and spill/leak procedures for many substances.
ToxFAQs: Hazardous Substance Fact Sheets Coverage: current
Frequently asked questions (FAQs) about exposure to hazardous substances found around hazardous waste sites and the effects of exposure on human health. Provided by the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) Division of Toxicology.
CRC handbook of laboratory safety.
2000.
Location: REF QD51.C73 2000
Fire protection guide to hazardous materials.
2002.
Location: REF TK55.3.H3 N32
Sittig’s handbook of toxic and hazardous chemicals and carcinogens.
2002.
Location: REF RA1215 .S58
All Online Chemistry & Biochemistry Resources
