Education Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Catalogs & Dissertations
- Websites
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Linda Mirvis
email: mirvis@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-6825
Article Databases
Education Abstracts Coverage: 1983 - present
Indexes/abstracts articles from major education journals. Topics include administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, government funding, and more.
ERIC (EBSCO) 
Coverage: 1966 - present
Indexes Current Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE). NOTE: ERIC Documents may be available online through EDRS or available on microfiche in the Library. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Professional Development Collection (Ebsco) 
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1887 - present
Indexes 1,300 Psychology journals from nearly 50 countries. Also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters. Same coverage as PsycLit.
Web of Knowledge Coverage: 1998-present
The Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
All Online Education Resources
