Engineering Subject Guide
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Janet Hack (interim contact)
email: jhack@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-8130
Article Databases - Engineering
Civil Engineering Databases (CEDB) Coverage: 1973 - present
Indexes/abstracts American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) documents published since 1973. Citations are included from journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines and newsletters.
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2) Coverage: 1969 - present
Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
Conference Papers Index Coverage: 1982 - present
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts 
Coverage: 1990 - present
Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
INSPEC (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1969 - present
Indexes 4,000 scientific/technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering, computing, and information technology. Includes: Computer & Control Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Physics Abstracts.
Web of Knowledge Coverage: 1998-present
The Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
top of page
E-Journals
IEEE Xplore Coverage: varies
Provides full-text access to IEEE journals and magazines from 1988-present, conference proceedings, and IEEE standards.
top of page
All Online Engineering Resources
