Information Systems Subject Guide
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608
Article Databases - Computing & IS Resources
Indexes with a focus primarily on computing and IS.
Computer Science Index (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1965 - present
Indexes/abstracts academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources at the highest scholarly and technical levels of computer science. Formerly Computer Literature Index.
Computer Source (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1985 - present
Indexes 450+ and contains the full-text of 300+ publications in computer science and high technology.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA) - EBSCO Coverage: 1966 - present
Indexes/abstracts 450+ publications in classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, Internet search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, electronic publishing.
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1973 - present
Indexes/abstracts literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Formerly Microcomputer Abstracts.
top of page
Article Databases - Engineering & Mathematics
These databases, while not specifically covering IS/IT topics, index the engineering and mathematics literature, inclduing government programs.
arXiv.org e-Print archive Coverage: current
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2) Coverage: 1969 - present
Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
INSPEC (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1969 - present
Indexes 4,000 scientific/technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering, computing, and information technology. Includes: Computer & Control Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Physics Abstracts.
MathSci Net Coverage: 1940 - present
Includes Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. The core index/abstract of mathematics.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Gateway Search the largest, central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. Note: full reports are not available online. Please contact a librarian if you wish to acquire one.
Science.gov Science.gov contains reliable government resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Developed by an interagency working group of 17 scientific and technical information organizations from 12 major science agencies.
top of page
Article Databases - Business & Economics
Indexes to the business and economics literature, company information and market information.
Business Source Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1990 - present
Full-text of nearly 1,400 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
EconLit (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1969 - present
Subject indexing and abstracts of journals, books, collective volumes, dissertations, and working papers in Economics.
Regional Business News (Ebsco) 
Coverage: Most recent 30 days
A collection of full text newswires which incorporates news information from all over the world. Formerly Business Wire News. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
top of page
Article Databases - Social & Psychological Aspects of Technology
Indexes for researching the social and psychological aspects of information technology.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) - Ebsco 
Coverage: varies
Indexes over 700 journals, including National Communication Association journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. Full-text of over 200 journals.
ERIC (EBSCO) 
Coverage: 1966 - present
Indexes Current Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE). NOTE: ERIC Documents may be available online through EDRS or available on microfiche in the Library. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
PsycINFO (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1887 - present
Indexes 1,300 Psychology journals from nearly 50 countries. Also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters. Same coverage as PsycLit.
SocIndex with Full Text (EBSCO) 
Coverage: 1895-
This sociology and social sciences index features more than 1,300,000 records including full text for 242 "core" journals dating back to 1895, 72 "priority" journals, 547 books and monographs, and 6,711 conference papers.
top of page
Article Databases - General Reference & Current Awareness
Online access to dictionaries, handbooks, current newspapers, other reference resources.
Gale Virtual Reference Library [GVRL] Gale Virtual Reference Library offers online access to reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and more. UMBC titles cover biography, business, law, public health, economic history, and multicultural studies.
LexisNexis Academic 
Coverage: varies
Search for news, legislation, business information. Features full text of many newspapers. Includes Federal & State case law, biography, country & state profiles, almanac, medical reference, quotations, polls & surveys, radio and TV transcripts.
National Newspapers (Proquest) Coverage: Full-text
Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present
Christian Science Monitor: 1988 - present
New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1999 - present
Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present
Washington Post: 1987 - present
Web of Knowledge Coverage: 1998-present
The Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
top of page
Full-text Journal Archives
Sites for access to the full text of the journals published by the relevant Professional societies.
ACM Digital Library Coverage: varies
Search across Journals, Magazines, Transactions, Proceedings (including USENIX), Newsletters and Special Interest Groups (SIGs) in the ACM Digital Library.
AMS Electronic Journals Coverage: varies
Search or browse select journals from the American Mathematical Society.
IEEE Xplore Coverage: varies
Provides full-text access to IEEE journals and magazines from 1988-present, conference proceedings, and IEEE standards.
top of page
All Online Information Systems Resources
