Mathematics and Statistics Subject Guide
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Janet Hack
email: jhack@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-8130
Article Databases - Math & Statistics
Current Index to Statistics (CIS) Coverage: 1974 - present
Indexes publications in statistics and related fields from 106 core journals, selected articles from about 900 additional journals, and about 8000 books in statistics. By the American Statistical Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics.
MathSci Net Coverage: 1940 - present
Includes Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. The core index/abstract of mathematics.
Zentralblatt MATH Coverage: 1868 - present
The world's most complete and longest running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics, containing more than 2.0 million entries drawn from more than 2300 serials and journals. Includes the Jahrbuch database (JFM). NOTE: UMBC only has access to the free version of Zentralblatt MATH which limits us to 3 results per search.
top of page
Article Databases - Multidisciplinary
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: varies
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Web of Knowledge Coverage: 1998-present
The Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
top of page
Article Databases - Pre-prints & Conference Papers
arXiv.org e-Print archive Coverage: current
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
Conference Papers Index Coverage: 1982 - present
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
top of page
Electronic Journal Collections
AMS Electronic Journals Coverage: varies
Search or browse select journals from the American Mathematical Society.
Biblioteka Wirtualna Matematyki Coverage: varies
Select journals from the Interdisciplinary Centre for Mathematical and Computational Modelling at Warsaw University.
JSTOR Coverage: varies
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
Numdam Coverage: varies
Search and view digitized versions of older, French journals in mathematics.
SIAM Journals Online Coverage: varies
Browse or search the full-text of SIAM journals online.
top of page
All Online Mathematics and Statistics Resources
