Modern Language & Linguistics Subject Guide
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Gergana Kostova
email: g.kostova@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3592
Article Databases - Modern Language & Linguistics
These resources provide access to scholarly journal articles, some of which are full-text
America: History & Life 
Coverage: prehistory - present
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America and Canda.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) Coverage: 1991 - present
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings and journal articles.
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) Coverage: 1992 - present
CWI provides full text access to global information on women. Includes journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco) 
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other reference sources in the humanities. The database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works.
JSTOR Coverage: varies
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) 
Coverage: 1973 - present
Indexes/Abstracts articles on the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Also includes comprehensive coverage of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association - Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1963 - present
Indexes 4,000+ journals in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, rhetoric, dramatic arts, printing and publishing.
PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service 
Coverage: 1972 - present
Indexes journals, books, and government documents in the fields of political science, policy, public administration, society. Includes backfile in July 05 through June 06.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 
Coverage: 1975-current
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations and public administration / policy.
top of page
Article Databases - Census Material
These resources provide methods and access to census materials.
American Factfinder Access data from the 1990 Decennial Census, the 1997 Economic Census, the American Community Survey, and Census 2000 data as they become available. American FactFinder is a service of the U.S. Census Bureau.
Finding Census Materials Coverage: current
Links to glossary of geographic concepts, local census tract materials locations, historical US Census data, U.S. Gazetteer, and the 1990 Census Lookup.
top of page
Article Databases - Government Documents, Legal Resources & Statistics
These resources provide access to federal and state government documents, legal resources, and statistical resources.
Government Document Search Coverage: current
Search the US Budget, Congressional documents, Economic Indicators, Economic Report of the President, Federal Register, GAO documents, Public Laws, United States Code, and others. GPO Access.
GPO Monthly Catalog (MOCAT) Coverage: 1976 - present
Indexes government publications issued by the Government Printing Office since July 1976.
LexisNexis Congressional 
Coverage: varies
Find congressional publications, legislative histories (1970-present), and track bills. Contains the US Code, voting records, full-text of congressional documents and the Congressional Record, plus the Federal Register (1980 - present) and the CFR.
LexisNexis Statistical 
Coverage: current
Includes these major statistical publications: ASI, SRI and IIS; Abstracts and indexes federal, international, state and privately published statistics; some hypertext links to agency Websites with full-text of the publication.
top of page
Article Databases - Multidisciplinary
These resources provide access to articles in both scholarly and popular journals and magazines as well as sources available in the Library
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: varies
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
ArticleFirst Coverage: 1990 - present
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
LexisNexis Academic 
Coverage: varies
Search for news, legislation, business information. Features full text of many newspapers. Includes Federal & State case law, biography, country & state profiles, almanac, medical reference, quotations, polls & surveys, radio and TV transcripts.
top of page
All Online Modern Language & Linguistics Resources
