Skip navigation

Music Subject Guide

Journal Articles Quick-Search


* UMBC Affiliates only


Contact YOUR Librarian:

Joe Clark
email: jclark@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-2964

Article Databases - Music

  • Free online resource CAIRSS Music Index

    Coverage: current
    Database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. 1,354 different journal titles; 18 of which are indexed cover to cover. Now with a Web interface.

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff JSTOR

    Coverage: varies
    Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Music & Performing Arts Online

    It brings the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) together in one site, enabling users to search both resources simultaneously. It covers areas such as music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Music Index (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource

    The Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Project Muse

    Coverage: varies
    Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource

    Coverage: 1969 - present
    Citations and abstracts on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. Produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale.

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Web of Knowledge

    Coverage: 1998-present
    The Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).


top of page

Article Databases - Multidisciplinary

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource

    Coverage: varies
    Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff ArticleFirst

    Coverage: 1990 - present
    Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.


top of page

All Online Music Resources

Subject Guides

Subject Guides Home

A

Africana Studies

Aging Studies & Gerontology

American Studies

Ancient Studies

Anthropology

Art/Visual Art

Athletics

B

Biological Sciences

Business & Economics

C

Career Resources

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Computer Science & Electrical Engineering (CSEE)

D

Dance

E

Education

Engineering

English

F

Film Reviews

G

Geography & Environmental Systems

H

History

I

Information Systems

L

Literary Criticism & Author Biography Subject Guide

M

Mathematics & Statistics

Modern Language & Linguistics

Music

P

Philosophy

Physics

Political Science

Primary Sources

Psychology

Public Policy

R

Religious & Judaic Studies

S

Social Work

Sociology

T

Theatre

W

Women's Studies

Related Resources

Research Help Guides

Tutorials