Skip navigation

Music Subject Guide



Contact YOUR Librarian:

Joe Clark
email: jclark@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-2964

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

  • reference book New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition. Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell, eds. 2001.
    Location: REF ML100.N48 2001
  • reference book Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik. Friedrich Blume, ed. 1994.
    Location: REF ML100.M92 1994
  • reference book The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. Bruno Nettl, Ruth M. Stone, James Porter and Timothy Rice, eds. 1998.
    Location: REF ML100.G16 1998
  • reference book The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Michael Kennedy, ed. 1994.
    Location: REF ML100.K35 1994
  • reference book The Harvard Concise Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Don Michael Randel, ed. 1999.
    Location: REF ML100.H36 1999
  • reference book The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed. Barry Kernfeld, ed. 2002.
    Location: REF ML102.J3.N48 2002
  • reference book The New Grove Dictionary of Opera. Stanley Sadie, ed. 1992.
    Location: REF ML102.O6.N5 1992
  • reference book The New Grove Dictionary of American Music. H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley Sadie, eds. 1986.
    Location: REF ML101.U6.N48 1986
  • reference book The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. Stanley Sadie, ed. 1984.
    Location: ML102.I5.N48 1984
  • reference book Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. Nicolas Slonimsky, ed. 2001.
    Location: ML105.B16 2001

top of page

All Online Music Resources

Subject Guides

Subject Guides Home

A

Africana Studies

Aging Services & Gerontology

American Studies

Ancient Studies

Anthropology

Art/Visual Art

Athletics

B

Biological Sciences

Business & Economics

C

Career Resources

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Computer Science & Electrical Engineering (CSEE)

D

Dance

E

Education

English

F

Film Reviews

G

Gender & Women's Studies

Geography & Environmental Systems

H

History

I

Information Systems

L

Literary Criticism & Author Biography

M

Mathematics & Statistics

Mechanical Engineering

Medicine & Health

Modern Language & Linguistics

Music

P

Philosophy

Physics

Political Science

Primary Sources

Psychology

Public Policy

R

Religious & Judaic Studies

S

Social Work

Sociology

T

Theatre

Related Resources

Research Guides & Tutorials