Gender & Women's Studies Subject Guide
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Simmona E. Simmons
email: simmons@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3587
Article Databases - Women's Issues
Journal Databases & Some Reference Texts
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) Coverage: 1992 - present
CWI provides full text access to global information on women. Includes journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets.
Women's Studies International 
Coverage: 1972-present
It covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 586,600 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
top of page
Article Databases - Multidisciplinary
Citations and some full-text
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: varies
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
America: History & Life 
Coverage: prehistory - present
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America and Canda.
Biography Index Coverage: 1946 - present
Coverage includes English-language periodicals and more than 1,800 books added each year.
Business Source Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1990 - present
Full-text of nearly 1,400 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) Coverage: 1991 - present
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings and journal articles.
Historical Abstracts 
Coverage: 1954 - present
Historical Abstracts indexes journals covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.
Ingenta Coverage: 1988 - present
Search or browse more than 20,000 publications from the UnCover, ingenta and CatchWord databases. Articles NOT OWNED by the Library may be ordered for online delivery by faculty, staff and graduate students. Includes TOC and search alert services.
JSTOR Coverage: varies
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
LexisNexis Academic 
Coverage: varies
Search for news, legislation, business information. Features full text of many newspapers. Includes Federal & State case law, biography, country & state profiles, almanac, medical reference, quotations, polls & surveys, radio and TV transcripts.
PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service 
Coverage: 1972 - present
Indexes journals, books, and government documents in the fields of political science, policy, public administration, society. Includes backfile in July 05 through June 06.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1887 - present
Indexes 1,300 Psychology journals from nearly 50 countries. Also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters. Same coverage as PsycLit.
Social Services Abstracts 
Coverage: 1979 - present
Indexes and abstracts current research focused on social work and human services, including social welfare, social policy, community development, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty and homelessness. Includes Social Work Abstracts.
top of page
All Online Women's Studies Resources
